‘The Baby Mine Project: A Lullaby Collection’ includes classic Disney songs

by Samantha Davis-Friedman

Releasing July 30, “The Baby Mine Project: A Lullaby Collection” is bringing comfort through lullabies — including three Disney classics — while also raising much-needed funds to support the health and wellness of children in Africa.

baby mine project
Images courtesy of The Baby Mine Project

Music has the unique ability to connect cultures, and this album is intended to provide comfort through lullabies and communicate a feeling of peace, no matter what part of the world they are heard or what language the listener speaks.

“Music is a comfort I know I can provide and what led me to start ‘The Baby Mine Project,’” said the project’s creator and co-founder David Shipman. “Now more than ever, we are looking for a sense of calm. Through this album, parents and grandparents in the U.S. can give the kids in their lives a bit of tranquility while helping provide comfort for children in Africa at the same time.”

Produced by Shipman, along with Aaron Safer and Grammy nominee Chris Jay, ​”The Baby Mine Project: A Lullaby Collection” is the first major fundraising campaign for the recently established non-profit whose mission is changing the future for vulnerable children in Africa. In addition to bringing comfort through lullabies, 50 percent of all album sales will support the organization’s mission; the first facility the proceeds will support is OVI Children’s Hospital ​in Kenya, part of OVI Healthcare’s movement to build global medical facilities that are innovating healthcare for vulnerable populations.

baby mine project

“Children everywhere need love and commitment,” Shipman said. “Those in underserved populations need our attention so that they can thrive and grow like other children.”

Shipman lends his voice to four songs on the album. He is joined by a diverse group of talented U.S. singers, as well as the last three Ringmasters for the now-closed ​Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey​ Circus, The African Children’s Choir, and the Kenyan Boys Choir. In addition to new lullabies, the album also includes new arrangements of Disney classics such as “You’ll Be In My Heart” from “Tarzan,” “When You Wish Upon A Star” from “Pinocchio,” and the album’s title song, “Baby Mine” from “Dumbo.”

baby mine project

“‘The Baby Mine: A Lullaby Collection’ has been such a dream for me,” Shipman said. “To listen to the voices make these songs come to life and infuse them with the energy and the love and the comfort is very exciting.”

Song List for “The Baby Mine Project: A Lullaby Collection

  1. “Someone’s Waiting” – Kellie Rhianne and The African Children’s Choir
  2. “Stay Awake” – David Shipman and the Kenyan Boys Choir
  3. “Not While I’m Around” – Dante J. Payne
  4. “You’ll Be In My Heart” – Kristen Michelle Wilson
  5. “Distant Melody” – Johnathan Lee Iverson and The African Children’s Choir
  6. “Hushabye Mountain” – Robyn Adele Anderson
  7. “A Million Dreams” – David Shipman, Kristen Michelle Wilson, Johnathan Lee Iverson
  8. “La vie en rose” – Diya Jawali
  9. “You Are My Sunshine” – Julia Ceslee Marie
  10. “La La Lu” – Karen Yvette Reid
  11. “When You Wish Upon A Star” – Von Smith
  12. “There’s Always Tomorrow” – Julia Ceslee Marie​ and David Shipman
  13. “Baby Mine” – David Shipman

The album is available for pre-order here.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

Email Newsletter Signup

Get the latest news direct to your inbox.
Simply submit your email address below.