Kennedy Space Center holding a day of remembrance ceremony on the 10th anniversary of Space Shuttle Columbia tragedy


Kennedy Space Center and The Astronauts Memorial Foundation will be holding a ceremony honoring of the crew of space shuttle Columbia STS-107 in remembrance of the 10th anniversary of the Columbia disaster at 10 a.m. on Feb. 1, 2013. The ceremony is being held at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex at the Space Mirror Memorial.

Ceremony speakers include:
• Thad Altman, AMF president and chief executive officer;
• Jon A. McBride, AMF Board of Directors chairman and former astronaut;
• Mick Ukleja, Ph.D., AMF Board of Trustees chairman;
• Evelyn Husband-Thompson, widow of Colonel Rick Husband, commander space shuttle Columbia STS-107;
• Eileen Collins, Return to Flight space shuttle commander;
• Robert D. Cabana, NASA Kennedy Space Center director and former astronaut;
• William H. Gerstenmaier, NASA Human Exploration and Operations associate administrator;
• Robert Lightfoot, NASA associate administrator.

Six-time Grammy award-winning recording artist BeBe Winans will pay tribute at the ceremony by singing “Star Spangled Banner” and “Ultimate Sacrifice,” two songs from his latest album “America America.” “Ultimate Sacrifice” is an original song by Winans written as a thank you to United States military personnel who have given their lives in service to our country.

The Space Shuttle Columbia’s crew of seven astronauts perished when Columbia broke apart during re-entry on Feb. 1, 2003. The STS-107 crew included Commander Rick D. Husband, Pilot William C. McCool, Payload Commander Michael P. Anderson, Payload Specialist Ilan Ramon, and Mission Specialists Kalpana Chawla, David M. Brown and Laurel Blair Salton Clark.

The public is invited to attend the ceremony and Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex will provide flowers for ceremony guests and visitors throughout the morning to place at the memorial. For more information, call 877-313-2610 or visit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *